top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaitlin Nester

1980's and 1990's trends

Updated: Nov 13, 2019

Makeup trends in the 1980's had many different places of inspiration. The natural looks of previous decades definitely didn't inspire these trends. They had crazy hair and makeup in the 1980's and it was cool to look at all the bright colors they used. They mainly had bold eyes and a TON of blush. For the 80's makeup they basically just said more is more and just went for it.


To get a face of makeup just like it was in the 80's you will need a lolt of extremely colorful makeup. For foundation they wore heavy liquid foundation to make their skin look flawless. For the cheeks they wore tons and tons of blush using the popular tones of pink, peach, and red. On their eyes the trend of heavy eyeliner all around their eyes became really popular....kind of raccoon like in my opinion but they made it work. They also piled on the eyeshadow up to the eyebrows and used crazy bright colors. Bright blue was a popular color at the time and the eyebrow trend was thick and bold. Pretty much the entire theme of 80's makeup is BOLD. Lipstick trends varied a lot in this time it was pretty much anything goes but a few trends were scented lip balm, frosty lip gloss, and bright fuchsia lipstick.



I personally think the 80's trends were crazy but I also kind of like it at the same time. Whenever I do my own makeup, I always think that less is more but the more is more attitude of the 80's was really fun and funky. I think my favorite trend would have to be the bold and colorful eyeshadow. It's really different and exciting and made their eyes stand out a lot. My least favorite things would have to be the excessive eyeliner and the heavy foundation. Those are two things I would never want to do on myself not even just for fun. Overall, the 80's makeup trends were really fun and crazy and I actually really liked them.

 

Makeup Trends in the 1990's was very interesting because people had all different styles and trends and weren't always doing the same thing. Many people developed their styles from copying the beauty icons of the 90's like Claudia Schiffer and Jennifer Aniston. Many people in the 90's had more of a grunge vibe which was pretty interesting.


To get a full face of 1990's makeup is pretty simple. The face was pretty neutral with the skin looking flawless but not having a lot of blush like in the 1980's. They had more of a neutral blush if they wore it. The eyebrows were pretty thin and neat. The eyes were also fairly neutral and they wore eyeliner. The white or glittery eyeshadow trend popped up occasionally in this time period as well. They also introduced the trend of having darker lip liner than their lipstick and also having very glossy lips.



I think that my favorite trend from the 1990's is the glittery eyeshadow. I think it is really pretty and adds a lot of sparkle to the eyes. I also like the trend of having a neutral and flawless face, I think it looks really pretty. I don't like the trend of having darker lip liner than their lipstick. I think that some people make it work but it definitely would not look right on me at all. Overall the 90's trends are really fun and pretty, and are also making a comeback right now!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page