top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaitlin Nester

1940's-1950's Trends

In my personal opinion, the 1940's makeup trends were a little bit weird. To have the full 1940's look, you would need to have neat eyebrows drawn on with a pencil and pastel colored eye shadow. They wore mascara only on the top eyelashes and they also wore a lot of blush and a type of foundation called pan cake foundation. For lipstick, they put a lot of emphasis on the upper lip. They also did light contouring to shape their faces.


1940's makeup was more on the natural side and was mainly focused on enhancing natural beauty. I really like the makeup trend of enhancing natural beauty, although it can be fun to do a crazy makeup look, enhancing your natural beauty is my favorite thing for every day makeup . The 1940's trends had the most vintage vibes of all the time periods I have researched so far and I actually really like how it looks, although I don't really like the idea of super thick foundation.


One thing that I read that I wasn't a big fan of was that it was common for women to wear makeup all the time to make themselves attractive for men and to make themselves always look happy. Although I think that the makeup looks of the time were beautiful, I am glad that makeup is now seen as more of an art, and people do it because they enjoy it, not because they are expected to present themselves a certain way like society expected the women of the 1940's to do.


 

If you want to look like you're from the 1950's then there are a few key steps in the classic 1950's makeup routine. Instead of having the thin, penciled in eyebrows that they had in the 1940's, they were more full and arched. They still had a pretty natural eye look and instead of the more pancake type foundation they started using more natural types of foundation. They started putting their blush higher up on their cheeks and filled in their lips with a pencil.



The 1950's had so much going on. There were all new styles going on in that time and makeup was being experimented with. One trend that I thought was pretty cool was how they matched their makeup to their clothes and everything was coordinated. It is not something that I would ever do as an every day thing now, but having a color themed makeup look and outfit could be something fun to try every once in a while.


If I were to pick my favorite trend from the 1940's trends, it would have to be the natural eyes. I think the overall look was very classy and reminded me of the Hollywood style of the 1930's that I also really liked. My favorite thing from the 1950's trends is definitely how the style was so bold. Women were thinking creatively with their fashion and makeup and it didn't matter that not everyone agreed with the bold looks they created, such as the coordinating makeup and clothes trend. The trends from these two time periods were really cool and interesting to learn about, and maybe I'll even try some of them out for myself.



9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page