top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaitlin Nester

1960's-1970's

Updated: Oct 16, 2019

Makeup trends in the 60’s were mostly based off of Twiggy, a British model, actress, and singer and was a major icon for 60’s trends. I had never heard of her before but her modeling pictures were really good and I can see why she was able to start all the trends. The most important elements involved in the 60’s look are big eyes, smooth and matte skin, and natural lips.

Getting a full 60’s face was quite the process. A very common trend involved eyeliner, which is my least favorite thing in makeup. However, in the 60’s having super thick, winged eyeliner was incredibly popular and I’m guessing took quite a while to do. Then for eye shadow they mostly stuck to colors like gray, blue, and white and most of the eye shadow was done in a cut crease style which is where the eyelid is carved out by one color and the crease of the eye is blended out in a different color. Twiggy really started people on using false eyelashes, which I personally do not like but people in the 60’s applied fake eyelashes to their top and bottom lashes, and if they didn’t do falsies they layered on the mascara to get the most spidery and thick looking eyelashes they could. Face makeup was minimal since most of the focus was on the eyes. They used pale cream foundations and powder to get a smooth, matte finish. Foundation powder was actually invented in the 60’s and was a big hit. They didn’t do any bronzer or contour and blush was light and minimal. Their eyebrows were sculpted and groomed with eyebrow pencils and the lips were either nude, pale pink, or any other subtle colors.


My favorite trend from the 60’s is the thick eyelashes. I love mascara, and although I don’t layer it on as much as they did, I think that eyelashes can really change a makeup look and brighten up your eyes and make them look dramatic and beautiful. I am not a fan of the thick eyeliner trend I think it looks too heavy and dark and although it was cool and interesting in the 60’s, it definitely is not for me. I am also really not a fan of fake eyelashes, they feel weird and are hard to put on so I don’t understand how it was an everyday thing for many of these women. The other trends are alright, although I would never wear cool toned eye shadows like they wore. I like how the makeup vibes became less vintage in this time period and were now more based off of models and were more fun rather than the Hollywood style elegance of most of the other time periods so far.

 

The 70’s

The main word that I saw when I was looking up 70’s makeup trends was GROOVY. The trends were mainly to have an effortless and more simple look, although some of the 70’s makeup was pretty out there. They really liked the tanned and athletic look in that time period as well, and also included lots of shimmer all over the face.


To have the classic 70’s look you would need shimmer eye shadow and mascara for the eyes, and on the eyebrows they just used clear mascara to shape them but still keep them natural. They used very light and natural foundation and powders with a slight shimmer to make them look natural and glowy, which is way more my speed than the previous thick layers of foundations and powders. They also started using bronzer more in the 70’s because being tan was a big trend. They put a bunch of bronzer and berry shades of blush on the cheeks to give them a healthy color to their face. For the lips they of course had to add more shimmer with sparkly lipgloss or lipstick.



I love the 70’s look. I really like how the trend was looking effortless and naturally beautiful and that the makeup was used to enhance their natural beauty and added some fun with all the shimmer. I think my favorite part of this trend would have to be the shimmery eyes. Although I wouldn’t actually wear my eyeshadow how they did in the 70’s, I think it is really fun and would definitely make my eyes pop if I were to try it. I also really like how they went a lot more natural with the foundation and added bronzer and blush to give them a healthy glow to their skin. I am not a fan of the sparkly lipgloss and lipstick. I think that frosty pink lipstick doesn’t do much for anyone and just looks too crazy. Shimmery lip gloss isn’t that bad but sparkly lipstick is just not my thing at all. I really like the balance of 70’s makeup because it combines the natural and effortless look, with a mix of fun and funky makeup.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page